Gummies Without Gelatin: A Healthy Twist To The Classic Snack

Gummy bears have become popular for their impressive taste, as well as the fact that you can find them in so many flavors. However, there are newer alternatives in town – gummies without the important gelatin component.

These alternatives are beneficial for individuals with gelatin sensitivities and for those who adhere to vegan or vegetarian diets. And for some manufacturers, finding alternatives to gelatin might be a better option to reach more people. Let’s find out why these gummies without gelatin are becoming so popular. 

Understanding Gelatin and Gelatin Sensitivity

For those who might not be aware, gelatin is a protein that is obtained from collagen. In the context of gummy bears, its major function is to act as a gelling agent.

Now, there is no secret about the fact that gelatin is an impressive ingredient or component. But, this isn’t to say that the ingredient is all that good. For one, there are people with gelatin sensitivity – essentially, people who react when they take gelatin. 

In most cases, the symptoms of gelatin sensitivity tend to manifest in the form of things like: 

  • Nausea 
  • Swelling 
  • Hives 
  • Itching
  • Issues with breathing and respiration 

This is why it is important for individuals who think they might have this issue to be very vigilant and aware. At the same time, manufacturers of things like gummy bears have also been moving towards creating versions of their products that don’t contain gelatin, so their consumers who have gelatin sensitivities can easily enjoy these products without fear.

Common Sources of Gelatin in Gummies

So we already pointed out the fact that gelatin is being used a lot in the making of gummies. Consistency and texture are the names of the game here, and for this to be incorporated, manufacturers tend to take gelatin from a few of the following sources: 

Conventional Gelatin 

In most cases, manufacturers go to get gelatin from animal collagen. This is gotten from sources like pig and cow skins, as well as their connective tissues and their bones. 

Kosher Gelatin 

Also an extension of the animal-based gelatin, kosher gelatin is obtained from plant or fish-based sources. For consumers who follow halal or kosher dietary restrictions, this is a proper source of gelatin that works perfectly.

Vegetarian or Vegan Gelatin Alternatives:

We all are aware of the massive shift towards vegetarianism in the past few years. And in light of that, a lot of manufacturers have also come up with vegan alternatives to the conventional collagen. 

These alternatives can include some of the following: 

Agar 

Known also as agar-agar, this is a gelatin-based substance that manufacturers extract from seaweed. The material is incredibly old, being used as far back as centuries ago. As you can imagine, it helps with gelling materials, and it can help to give something like gummy bears their characteristic shape. 

Pectin

Next, we have pectin – a naturally occurring substance that serves as a byproduct of several fruits. Harvesters tend to get pectin from the cores and skins of fruits, and it works as a natural gelling agent in food. At the same time, pectin can also work as a thickener and a stabilizer, providing several impressive health benefits. 

Carrageenan

Finally, there is carrageenan- another naturally-occurring alternative to gelatin. This component is gotten from red seaweed, and it’s also been used for quite a long time. With carrageenan, you are able to achieve a thickening effect, as well as improve the structural properties of your gummies. So, it’s really the full package. 

That said, there have also been some controversies about the health benefits and effects of carrageenan. So, some manufacturers might prefer to hold off on using this one.

If you are not looking to engage with animal products – whether due to ethical or religious reasons – then gummy bears with these alternatives are definitely perfect for you. Consumers tend to be quite vigilant when it comes to these sources. And as you can imagine, so are manufacturers as well.

Benefits of Gelatin-Free Gummies

It might not be so clear, but the movement towards gelatin-free gummies is starting to pick up a lot of steam. And today, we are seeing a lot of manufacturers actually moving towards this trend. Why is that? 

The Gummies Are Great For Vegans

First and probably most important is the fact that these gelatin-free gummies provide a great way to cater to the needs of people who follow strict vegan diets. Since traditional gummies are made with animal-derived gelatin, the ones which don’t have any gelatin easily fit into the vegan lifestyle. 

Perfect Defense Against Allergens

A lot of gelatin-based gummies actually run the risk of infecting consumers with allergens like gelatin. With gelatin-free gummies, you never have to worry about this, meaning that individuals with food allergies can enjoy these gummies too. 

Catering For Ethical Considerations 

For consumers who are concerned about animal welfare or who would prefer not to eat gelatin for any number of ethical considerations, these gummies are also an ideal source. They are cruelty-free, and they fit right into those ethical considerations you might have. 

Besides this, we should also point out the fact that the gelatin-free gummies can comply with possible restrictions for people who belong to certain religious groups. That said, you might want to check if this is true – especially since gelatin isn’t the only ingredient in gummy bears. 

The Ingredients Promote Health 

Several gelatin-free gummy bears come with natural ingredients and can even offer a bunch of additional health benefits, thanks to their constituency of minerals, fruit extracts, vitamins, and more. So, you are not just eating something that’s cruelty-free – you are eating something that’s healthy too.

A Good Look For Producers

Manufacturers also get a considerable amount of goodwill and solid PR when they present themselves as makers of healthy, gelatin-free products. They demonstrate that they are committed to dietary transparency and consumer health, and that their products are also reliable for anyone regardless of their sensitivities.

Tips for Choosing Gelatin-Free Gummies

For consumers who would want to get on the gelatin-free gummy wave, it’s important to not get any product you see on the shelf. When making choices, keep the following factors in mind to ensure that you make the right choice:  

Always Read Labels

First, it’s important for you to always watch ingredients and labels. This way, you can be certain that the product doesn’t contain any gelatin whatsoever. 

Check For Additional Certification

You can also look for gummy products that are certified gelatin-free by any high-ranking standards organizations. 

Ensure The Manufacturing Process Is Legit

As much as you can, reach out to manufacturers or visit their websites to ask about their manufacturing practices. This helps you to ensure that they made the gummies right, and that they also looked out for issues such as cross-contamination. 

You Might Want To Look Into Specialty Brands

We also recommend that you look into brands that specialize in gelatin-free gummy production. You can at least trust that these brands offer high-quality gelatin-free products, so why not patronize them? 

Ask What Others Are Saying

We live in a world where reviews play a role in just about every purchasing decision you make. So, you can always look out for customer reviews and read them to get a pulse of what everyone else is saying about the products. 

Conclusion

Taking care of one’s health isn’t just an option – in today’s consumer-driven world, it is a necessity. Gummy bear manufacturers are aware of this, and they have begun developing versions of their products that don’t contain gelatin so that their consumers with gelatin sensitivities can still enjoy them. 

At Sainty Tec, we can easily partner with you to ensure that your gelatin-free gummy bears are as impressive and as yummy as possible.

  • plane

    Do You have Any Question about Pharmaceutical Machine?

    Order or no order, I'm always happy to make friends and provide Free consultant for you

    Any question about any machine in your factory, i will always try my best to solve your problem with 15 years Experience!

Scroll to Top